The health information in this post is provided for general education purposes only and is not intended to be a substitute for a diagnosis and should never be used for specific medical advice. Please consult a healthcare professional for questions, concerns, or treatment.
This gluten-free, dairy-free chicken recipe is another recipe from my mother-in-law. She also gave me the recipe for my Gluten-Free, Dairy-Free, Amazing FAUX Pumpkin Cake that I shared in the Fall. This recipe is one of my husband’s favorites. I’m featuring it this month since we celebrated his birthday with a special dinner. I love making his favorites. This recipe is gluten and dairy-free, but you would never know it.
This gluten-free, dairy-free chicken recipe requires some prep work. The chicken is coated in dairy-free parmesan cheese, egg, and then gluten-free breadcrumbs. Once the chicken is coated, cover it and chill for 1 hour.
After the chicken chills for an hour, sprinkle each piece with salt and pepper on both sides and then brown slightly. Add it to a baking pan. Saute the mushrooms in the pan, with cooking wine for about 5 minutes. Cover each chicken breast with a slice of dairy-free cheese, then pour the mushroom sauce over the chicken. Place foil over the pan tightly and bake.
There are several brands of dairy-free cheese to consider if you have a dairy allergy, or if you follow a Vegan diet. Treeline is an option that is made from cashews. Follow Your Heart makes a dairy-free cheese made from palm oil, and Kite Hill uses almond milk. Daiya makes dairy-free mozzarella slices and shredded cheese made from cassava and arrowroot plants. Trader Joe’s also has dairy-free mozzarella cheese made with cashews. Violife’s dairy-free cheese is made with coconut oil.
Most dairy-free cheeses come from plants, fats, and/or proteins. Nuts such as cashews or almonds are commonly used. Some brands use seeds such as sesame or sunflower. Other dairy-free cheeses are made from oils like coconut or palm oil. Dairy-free cheeses are also made with soybeans and tofu, or tapioca, rice, and potatoes.
Goat milk (cheese) does contain dairy and is considered a dairy product. All milk from mammals (goat, sheep, cow) and any products derived from their milk like sour cream, cheese, or yogurt contain dairy. If you have a dairy allergy to cow’s milk, then you probably do to goat’s milk too. If your allergy to dairy is severe, it is recommended to consult your doctor before trying goat’s milk or any goat’s milk products. Remember everyone is different so some may tolerate goat’s milk but not cow’s milk. Again, consult your physician.
The answer is yes. Meat including chicken is naturally gluten-free. Be careful of meat that is cured in solutions (some lunch meats), floured, or breaded. These will probably contain gluten. Check for the gluten-free label on all pre-packaged meats.
Bread crumbs are replaced easily with ingredients like oats, cornflakes, potato chips, nuts, seeds, shredded coconut, or almond flour. Crush up and blend any of these items using a sealed Ziploc bag or a blender. Ian’s, Panko and Katz gluten-free bread crumbs are available at most local grocery stores.
This depends on what type of chicken you are making. Soups and stews containing chicken are covered to allow the chicken to maintain its natural juices. When you roast a chicken, do not cover it. You want the skin to crisp up and brown while roasting. Cover boneless, skinless, chicken breasts with foil. This prevents the chicken from drying out.
This recipe is great for a special occasion or for just a weekend family dinner. I hope you will give it a try. When you do, leave me a comment and let me know. I want to know what you think.
Blessings, Laura xo